I Just Want To See Your Lights Come On

So here I am. First thing I want you to know is that I’m talking to myself here. A lot of the time I’m talking to my two young sons and my wife, also. But just so we’re clear, I’m not exempting myself from the observations and advice that I intend to lay out here.

Sometimes I’m talking to present day me and sometimes I’m talking to the guy who got me into all of this. The guy who insisted on doing things the hard way.

So when I get a little pushy or my language gets a little rough, please don’t take it personally. That stuff isn’t necessarily aimed at you. Unless it is. In which case I only hope and mean to be useful.

A bit of advice I subscribe to is to understand whom you are writing to. If you try to write to everyone, you will probably wind up writing to no one. But if you know who you’re talking to you’re more likely to connect.

So I guess first and foremost I’m trying to connect with people like me. Folks who have something but haven’t quite figured out what it is yet or what to do with it.

That Frederick Douglass quote about it being “easier to build strong children than repair broken men” (I’m sure you’d include the ladies today, right Mr. Douglass?) resonates with me (wish I’d heard that one when I was younger) but I also happen to know that finding new and useful things can be exhilarating no matter where you are on the timeline.

So, in that regard, whether I’m talking to the present day, seeking, listening me/us or long time ago, “thanks, but I got this” me/us, the intent is the same;

I care about you. I just want for you to become more and more of who and what you really are so that you can better deliver your gifts. Because the world needs them.

Why are we sitting around in the dark, anyway?

Flicker, flicker…

I just want to see your lights come on.

did mention that I’m also talking to myself here, right?

unsplash-logoPatrick Tomasso

 

Leave a comment